Skip to content
November 21, 2022



Arista Nashville/Sony Music Nashville rising star Nate Smith released a brand new track today, “Wreckage.” The song will appear on his debut, self-titled album arriving Feb. 17. Listen to “Wreckage” and pre-add/order/save the full-length project HERE.

Written by Nate alongside Mary Kutter, Chris Sligh and Paul Wrock, “Wreckage” first captivated fans when he shared part of the song on his social media platforms, growing his collective following by 270k+ since the first time he previewed the track. The gripping and emotive song will be featured on his upcoming, self-titled album along with his current Gold-certified single “Whiskey On You,” which is Top 15 and climbing at country radio, as well as recent releases “I Found You” and “I Don’t Wanna Go To Heaven.”

Nate shared about the impending full-length project: “It has been so much fun making this album, and I really believe in every one of these songs. Releasing an album has always been a goal of mine, but at the end of the day it’s really not about me. It’s about being able to reach other people with music that means something.” He added that his mission with his music is to be a “conduit of hope”; a selfless and passionate driving force that’s thematic in his songs. “I’m not trying to be cool, or reinvent the wheel, or chase musical trends…I’m going after the heart of the matter.”

Nate’s journey to Nashville and the challenges he endured along the way are traceable in his gravelly tone, including losing his hometown of Paradise, CA to Camp Fire, the deadliest and most destructive fire in the state’s history. Following the fire, Nate turned to music to cope, eventually inspiring a cross-country road trip to Nashville to pursue music fulltime. Coincidentally, the announcement of his debut album arrived on the four-year anniversary of the start of the fire (Nov. 8, 2018). 

Through all the hardships, the rising star found purpose and hope. Like Nate, the 20-song collection is honest, raw, real, and threaded together with optimism. While each song tells its own story, Nate unveils two sides of his artistry through the project: deep, heartfelt ballads and fun-loving, drink in the air, country jams. The two are intertwined with undeniable hooks and his signature velvet thunder vocals.

Nate will be joining Thomas Rhett on his HOME TEAM TOUR 23, which will kick off May 4 in Des Moines, IA, and will hit a total of 40 cities next summer. Tickets are on sale now. Additionally, Nate was recently named the final member of the Grand Ole Opry’s NextStage Class of 2022, where he’ll take the stage on November 20 for their Opry NextStage Live In Concert, presented by Geico, alongside other 2022 NextStage artists Elvie Shane, BRELAND, Restless Road, and Conner Smith. For tour dates, tickets, and additional information,

Nate Smith Track Listing:

1. If I Could Stop Loving You (Jason Massey/Matt Rogers/Justin Wilson)

2. Alright, Alright, Alright (Joey Hendricks/Jessie Jo Dillon/Daniel Ross)

3. One Good Girl (Nate Smith/Lindsay Rimes/Jonathan Singleton)

4. Back At It Again (Trannie Anderson/Adam Doleac/Jason Massey)

5. You Ain’t Been In Love (Nate Smith/Zach Abend/Andy Albert/Blake Pendergrass)

6. Better Boy (Michael Hardy/Taylor Phillips)

7. You Only Want Me When You’re Drunk (Nate Smith/Lindsay Rimes/Seth Alley)

8. Bad Memory (Nate Smith/James McNair/Lindsay Rimes/Emily Weisband)

9. Oil Spot (Jared Hampton/Tate Howell/Drew Kennedy)

10. Wreckage (Nate Smith/Mary Kutter/Chris Sligh/Paul Wrock)

11. LFG (Nate Smith/Adam James/Mikey Reaves)

12. Whiskey On You (Nate Smith/Lindsay Rimes/Russell Sutton)

13. You Shouldn’t Have To (Nate Smith/Matt Alderman/Brian Bunn)

14. Sleeve (Nate Smith/Brian Scott Alexander/Mary Kutter/Noah Jackson Lubert)

15. I Found You (Nate Smith/Chris Gelbuda/Kyle Schlienger)

16. Backseat (Adam James/Steven McMorran/Andy Sheridan)

17. Name Storms After (Nate Smith/Trannie Anderson/Seth Alley)

18. Raised Up (Nate Smith/Trannie Anderson/Jonathan Smith)

19. Under My Skin (Nate Smith/Trysette Maree Loosemore/Larry McCoy)

20. I Don’t Wanna Go To Heaven (Nate Smith/Daniel Fernandez)

*Tracks 1-8, 11-13, 15, 17 Produced by Lindsay Rimes

*Track 9 Produced by Jared Hampton

*Tracks 10, 14, 16, 18-19 Produced by Joël Bruyère

*Track 20 Produced by Joël Bruyère and Nate Smith